Shelby Baptist Medical Center Announces 2020 Medical Staff Officers and Department Chairs

Dec 30, 2019

Daniel Gosdin, MD elected Chief of Staff to represent more than 150 of his peers

ALABASTER, Ala. (December 30, 2019) – Shelby Baptist Medical Center is proud to announce the hospital’s 2020 Medical Staff officers and department chairpersons. These physicians, who were elected by their peers, play an important role in the hospital decision-making process, working collaboratively with the Board, Administration and Medical Staff. The Medical Staff organization helps to better define and monitor processes for physician credentialing, evaluation, peer review and discipline. The 2020 officers and chairpersons are:

Daniel Gosdin, MD
Chief of Staff


  • President - Daniel B. Gosdin, MD - Anesthesia
  • Secretary/Treasurer - Jeff H. Segrest, MD - Cardiology
Department Chairs
  • Anesthesia Chief - Kurt A. Senn, MD
  • Emergency Medicine Chief - Joseph Tubbs, MD
  • Medicine Chief - Jeff H. Segrest, MD
  • Medicine Vice Chief - Jade Roshell Brice, MD
  • OB/GYN & Pediatrics Chief - Ashley D. Gooding, MD
  • Pathology Chief - Susan S. Harvey, MD
  • Radiology Chief - Patrick D. Grant, MD
  • Surgery Chief - Timothy L. Christopher, MD
  • Surgery Vice Chief - Patrick L. Mills II, MD
  • Quality/Prescribing Information Chair - Michael Passarella, MD
  • Member-at-Large - Steven Taylor, MD
  • Member-at-Large - Richard D. Barrett, MD
  • Member-at-Large - Paul G. LaRussa, MD

“Caring for the Shelby County community is an honor and privilege,” stated Shelby Baptist Medical Center Medical Staff President, Dr. Daniel Gosdin. “I look forward to working alongside the other members of the medical staff to continue to provide high-quality care to our patients and appreciate the opportunity to represent my peers as Medical Staff president next year.”

“Shelby Baptist continues to establish itself as the acute care hospital of choice. We are proud of our many accomplishments, and we look forward to another successful year with Dr. Gosdin leading our medical staff to continue to drive the standard of high-quality care for which this hospital is known.”

Find a Doctor

Need a doctor for your care? 

Sign Up for Health Tips

Get our advice and upcoming events about weight, pain, heart and more.